The Australian federal government has granted environmental approval under the EPBC Act to Port Hedland Iron Pty Ltd for Port Hedland Iron Project – Stage 1, the gas-based hot briquetted iron (HBI) complex planned at the Boodarie Strategic Industrial Area near Port Hedland, Western Australia. The approval was issued on 7 October 2026 and runs until 30 June 2088, according to SteelOrbis, the sole published source located for this update. A condition requires substantial commencement within five years — by 7 October 2031 — unless the conditions are varied.

The federal decision follows final state-level approval in April 2026. That sequencing matters more than it may appear: both major permitting gates are now passed for a project of roughly US$3bn (currency unconfirmed — see below), shifting the binding constraints from regulators to financiers, technology licensors and engineering contractors.

What the project actually is

The planned configuration is an integrated, export-oriented ironmaking complex rather than a conventional mine:

ParameterReported figure
LocationBoodarie Strategic Industrial Area, ~10 km SW of Port Hedland, Pilbara, WA
Iron ore feed~3.0–3.5 Mt/y
Product~2 Mt/y HBI; ~0.7 Mt/y pellets exported via Port Hedland
Reduction technologyMIDREX direct reduction, natural gas-based
FacilitiesPellet plant, DR/HBI plant, briquetting, hydrogen production & storage, export/pellet handling
Construction duration~2.5 years
Stated operating lifeUp to 101 years
Capital cost"Approximately 3 billion" — currency not stated in the source

The inclusion of hydrogen production and storage is notable. It suggests the plant is being designed as hydrogen-ready — capable of blending H2 into the reducing gas over time — rather than as a fully green DRI facility from day one. No electrolyser capacity, hydrogen offtake or carbon capture arrangement has been disclosed, so the current configuration should be read as gas-based with optionality, not as a green-iron project in the strict sense.

The commercial picture: backers named, structure absent

Three Asian steel and trading majors are associated with the project: POSCO (explicitly described as backing the project), Marubeni and China Steel Corporation. Their precise roles — equity, offtake, technology partnership or a mix — are not public. That is the most consequential disclosure gap for anyone modelling this project.

Two things follow from that partner set:

  • Offtake logic is straightforward. A ~2 Mt/y HBI output aligns almost exactly with the appetite of Korean, Japanese and Taiwanese steelmakers pursuing EAF or BOF decarbonisation pathways. HBI is a merchant metallics product, so the export route via Port Hedland is credible.
  • POSCO's involvement is strategic, not incidental. POSCO has been building a hydrogen-based ironmaking programme (HyREX) and a global HBI/DRI position. A Pilbara gas-based HBI asset is consistent with a transitional feedstock strategy while its own green-iron technology matures.

The ~3–3.5 Mt/y ore feed requirement also implies a shift in the Pilbara's premium-feed demand profile. DR-grade pellets require very low gangue and tightly controlled chemistry — a meaningfully different product spec than blast-furnace lump and fines. Any incremental DR-grade pellet capacity in the Pilbara is strategically significant to Asian direct reduction operators.

What the approvals do and do not unlock

Environmental approval is necessary but not sufficient. The critical remaining gates are:

  1. Final investment decision (FID) — not announced.
  2. Financing close — no lenders or debt structure disclosed.
  3. EPC/EPCI contractor award — no contractor identified in any published source reviewed.
  4. Technology licence confirmation — MIDREX is named as the flowsheet, but no licensing contract has been announced.
  5. Construction start — must occur by 7 October 2031 to satisfy the EPBC condition.

That commencement deadline is effectively the project's pacing constraint. With a stated ~2.5-year build, a construction start in roughly 2029 would still comfortably clear the 2031 gate — but that timing is arithmetic inferred from the reported build duration, not a stated schedule.

Steel procurement: no packages awarded, no quantities disclosed

For steel producers, fabricators and distributors, the honest position is that no procurement has been confirmed at any level. No structural steel, plate, pipe, rebar or long-lead equipment package has been awarded, tendered or publicly scoped. No tonnage figures have been released for the pellet plant, the DR shaft and reformer, briquetting, gas processing, hydrogen facilities or port/materials-handling works.

The construction scope — a pellet plant plus a direct reduction module plus gas reforming plus briquetting plus hydrogen storage plus stockyards, rail/road interfaces and port works — is structurally steel-intensive in aggregate. But any specific tonnage estimate would be speculative, and readers should treat third-party tonnage figures for this project with scepticism until an EPC is named and a bill of quantities emerges.

In lifecycle terms, the commercial signal is one of build-up to a future tender market, not an active one:

Package categoryStatus
Civil/structural steel for plant and port worksNot awarded; no tender evidence
Process equipment (DR shaft, reformer, briquetting)Not awarded; licensor unconfirmed
Line pipe, plate for gas/hydrogen facilitiesNot awarded
Long-lead itemsNot scoped publicly
Maintenance/spares over 101-year operating lifeFuture, unevidenced

The more defensible commercial inference is that an EPC award, if and when it comes, is likely to be structured as a lump-sum turnkey or EPCM arrangement with a Korean, Japanese, Chinese or Indian contractor — the partner set points in that direction — and that Tier 1 fabrication packages would then flow to Australian and Southeast Asian fabricators on normal lead times.

The bigger strategic read

The Pilbara's decarbonisation narrative has been dominated by the majors — Rio Tinto, BHP and Fortescue's green-iron and low-carbon ironmaking studies. Port Hedland Iron's Stage 1 is a different model: a merchant, mid-scale, gas-based HBI plant with hydrogen optionality, backed by Asian offtake-linked partners, sited in a WA-government-designated heavy-industry estate near a major bulk port.

If it proceeds, it would:

  • establish a gas-based DRI/HBI foothold in a region more associated with iron ore export than ironmaking;
  • create a new merchant HBI supply source competing with traditional suppliers in Trinidad, Venezuela, Russia and the Middle East;
  • validate the Boodarie SIA as a heavy-industry location and potentially anchor further processing investment;
  • provide a template for "hydrogen-ready" rather than "hydrogen-first" DRI in Australia.

If it does not proceed to FID, the approvals will simply expire or lapse, and the ~3 Mt/y of premium DR-grade ore demand it would have created will not materialise.

What to watch next

The sequencing to monitor, in order of commercial significance:

  1. An EPC/EPCI award announcement — the clearest single signal that procurement is real.
  2. Ownership and offtake disclosure — POSCO, Marubeni and CSC equity splits and HBI offtake allocations.
  3. FID and financing close — likely bundled with an EPC announcement.
  4. Technology licence confirmation (MIDREX or alternative).
  5. Any Australian partner addition — no local equity participant has been disclosed.

Until at least the first two of these arrive, the project should be treated as a well-permitted, credible but pre-investment development. The October 2026 approval is a genuine milestone; it is not, on its own, a procurement trigger.

A note on confidence

This article relies primarily on a single published report of the federal approval (SteelOrbis, 20 October 2026). Attempts to reach the EPBC public portal, the WA EPA proposal page and the developer's own disclosures were unsuccessful at the time of writing, and no primary approval document was reviewed. Where this article states a fact — the approval date, the 2031 commencement condition, the 2088 expiry, the plant configuration and the ~3bn cost figure — it is taken from that report. Where it states analysis — the implication of the partner set, the steel-intensity inference, the strategic read — it is the author's own. The currency of the ~$3bn figure and the ownership structure are genuinely unknown and should not be assumed.

  1. 2026-04-01Western Australian government granted final state-level approval for the approximately 3 billion project in April 2026 (day not specified).
  2. 2026-10-07Australian federal government granted environmental approval under the EPBC Act to developer Port Hedland Iron Pty Ltd, valid until June 30, 2088.
Recorded development timeline for Port Hedland Iron Project – Stage 1: state-level approval in April 2026, federal EPBC approval and five-year commencement clock from 7 October 2026.Credit: MetalMate · Original diagram (MetalMate)