The Australian federal government's environmental approval for Port Hedland Iron Project – Stage 1, issued to Port Hedland Iron Pty Ltd on 7 October 2026 under the EPBC Act and valid until 30 June 2088, is the project's second regulatory milestone in six months, following Western Australian approval in April. It is also, in commercial terms, the least informative one. Environmental consent defines the outer boundary of what may be built. It says nothing about who pays, who supplies the ore, where the gas comes from, or whether a 2 million t/y hot briquetted iron plant in the Pilbara can be financed against a global merchant HBI market that is small, thinly traded and dominated by a handful of producers.

What the approval does deliver is a clock. The project must commence within five years — by 7 October 2031 — unless conditions are varied. With construction estimated at about 2.5 years, first production therefore lands somewhere between roughly 2029 (if the promoters break ground promptly) and the mid-2030s (if they use the full window). That is a wide range, and it should be read as a signal that the project's schedule is now governed by commercial decisions rather than permitting.

The configuration is unusual, and deliberately so

The plan is a fully integrated downstream complex in the Boodarie Strategic Industrial Area, roughly 10 km southwest of Port Hedland: an ore processing complex, a pellet plant and a MIDREX gas-based direct reduction facility producing HBI. Around 3–3.5 Mt/y of iron ore feed goes in. Most pellets are consumed internally to make about 2 Mt/y of HBI; roughly 0.7 Mt/y of pellets is exported through Port Hedland. Hydrogen production and storage facilities are included to support operations and longer-term decarbonisation.

Two numbers in that configuration deserve scrutiny.

The feed ratio is tight. At 3–3.5 Mt ore to 2 Mt HBI, the implied consumption is roughly 1.5–1.75 t of ore per tonne of HBI — an arithmetic check, not a published figure. That is at the low end of what a shaft-furnace DR plant would normally consume, which implies a high-grade, low-gangue feed, typically in the 66–68% Fe range with tightly controlled silica and alumina. Whether that feed comes from a dedicated mine, a third-party offtake or a blend purchased on the seaborne market is not disclosed and is arguably the single most important unresolved commercial question. A DR-grade pellet supply chain in the Pilbara is not a given; the region's export ore is predominantly blast-furnace and sinter grade.

The pellet balance is under-specified. The reported 0.7 Mt/y of exported pellets is an export figure, not a plant capacity. With ~2 Mt/y of pellets going to the DR shaft and 0.7 Mt/y exported, total pellet output plausibly sits somewhere above 2.7 Mt/y — implying a pellet yield in the order of 0.85–0.9 t per tonne of ore feed. This is an estimate; no total pellet capacity has been published.

ParameterReported figureNote
HBI capacity~2 Mt/yMIDREX natural-gas DR
Pellet exports~0.7 Mt/yThrough Port Hedland
Iron ore consumption~3–3.5 Mt/yImplies ~1.5–1.75 t ore/t HBI (analysis)
Capex~$3 billionCurrency not stated in source
Construction~2.5 yearsFirst output 2029–mid-2030s depending on start
Approval validityTo 30 June 2088Commence by 7 Oct 2031
Stated operating life"Up to 101 years"Inconsistent with approval term (see below)

A lifespan figure that does not add up

A 101-year operating life is a striking claim for a project whose environmental approval runs only to mid-2088 — about 62 years from the October 2026 grant date. The two are reconcilable only if the 101 years refers to a different basis: total resource life including mining, an earlier project concept, or staged consent renewals. As reported, the figure should be treated as promotional rounding rather than an engineering parameter. Readers should also note that capex is given as "approximately 3 billion" with no currency stated in the trade-press report; at USD, that equates to roughly $1,500 per tonne of annual HBI capacity (my calculation). That is competitive for a greenfield DR plant with associated pelletising and infrastructure, but the number should not be relied on until the promoters state scope and currency explicitly.

Why the backers matter more than the approval

The partner set is the real signal: POSCO, Marubeni and China Steel Corporation. Each brings a different piece of the puzzle.

  • POSCO is pursuing hydrogen-based reduction and needs demonstrated DR capacity outside Korea, where domestic gas costs and siting constrain it. A Pilbara HBI plant is a testbed and an optional feedstock source.
  • China Steel Corporation operates in a market with limited scrap availability and rising carbon costs; HBI is a direct substitute for imported pig iron and high-grade scrap in its conversions.
  • Marubeni supplies the trading, offtake structuring and project-development capability that resource projects in Australia typically require.

Equity shares, offtake allocations and governance are not public. Those details matter more than the approval itself: a 2 Mt/y merchant plant needs committed buyers before lenders will commit, and the partner mix implies the HBI is largely pre-destined for Korea and Taiwan rather than sold on the spot market.

The strategic bet: value-add in a country that ships ore, not iron

Australia exports roughly 900 Mt/y of iron ore and produces almost no metallic iron. The Boodarie project is a direct test of the "value-add" policy agenda pursued by both Canberra and Perth — processing ore domestically, exporting a metallised product rather than raw ore, and capturing the margin and the emissions accounting at home.

The gas-based MIDREX route is the pragmatic choice for that agenda: it cuts CO2 per tonne of iron substantially versus blast furnace ironmaking, but it is not zero-carbon. That is why hydrogen production and storage are in the scope — as an option and a decarbonisation pathway rather than, on current evidence, a near-term operating mode. Whether any condition requires a hydrogen transition, and on what timetable, is not disclosed in the reporting and should be a priority item for anyone tracking this project. Natural gas supply arrangements and pipeline capacity into Boodarie are equally material and equally unmentioned.

What to watch

The regulatory path is now clear on both state and federal tracks. The remaining gates are commercial and can be tracked:

  1. EPBC reference and full conditions — particularly greenhouse gas limits, water entitlements, port throughput caps and any hydrogen mandate.
  2. Final investment decision — without it, the October 2031 commencement deadline starts to bite.
  3. Ore supply — a named mine or offtake agreement for DR-grade feed.
  4. Gas contracts — volume, term and price for the Pilbara gas supply.
  5. Offtake and equity terms among POSCO, Marubeni and CSC.
  6. Port access at Port Hedland, one of the world's most congested bulk export terminals.

If the project proceeds on schedule, it would add meaningful merchant HBI tonnage to a global seaborne trade that is measured in single-digit millions of tonnes annually — a structural shift for Asian electric-arc and integrated producers seeking non-scrap, lower-carbon iron units from a politically stable source. If it stalls, it will join the list of Pilbara downstream concepts that cleared environmental review but never reached financial close. The approval removes one excuse. It does not supply the others.

Source & methodology +

MetalMate separates original-source evidence from summary and analysis. Verify the original source before procurement, legal or engineering decisions.

Article status
Published · Version 1
Source date
20 October 2026
MetalMate publication
20 October 2026
Verification
Automated evidence checks; not human reviewed

POSCO-backed Port Hedland HBI project in Australia receives federal environmental approval — SteelOrbis